I’ve relented and put up a shape for sale in Second Life – Proportionate Woman in Standard Sizes – a package of 5 customizable shapes ideal for use with mesh clothing.

I done gone and make a shape for sale in SL. Yeah… one that’s not a freebie.

I’ve written many times about my opinions that selling shapes is a bit… tacky… given that its just dials…

But years and years of time in SL and I keep seeing avatars with poor proportions. Putting up a guide has helped some. Guides from others have had an impact as well. But there are still a lot of people who cannot get the anatomy down right.

Add to this the growing prevalence of mesh clothing, and a -LOT- of people are having trouble fitting into new outfits / getting outfits to fit them. Publishing the numbers for ‘standard sizes’ hasn’t been enough there either it would seem.

So I decided to take two issues and put them together. Meet two goals in one step.

Make a series of shapes that are both proportionate to proper anatomy, AND meant to fit the popular ‘standard sizes’ now cropping up in mesh clothing.

The result is this:

This is a ‘cleaned up’ version of the product image, you’ll have to go to marketplace, or my shop inside of Second Life to see it in full. I need to check the TOS on wordpress to see how I can manage to put up the proper image. On the marketplace entry you can also see previews of all 5 shapes. The same was done with the box its sold from in my shop – a big cube, though I had to put one of them on the bottom that sits on the ground…

Here’s how I describe it:

All 5 standard sizes included: Large, Medium, Small, Extra Small, Extra Extra Small.

This is meant to be a series of modifiable shapes to help with getting a naturally proportionate adult woman’s avatar, which can be used with mesh clothing built for the popular ‘standard sizes:
http://bloggingsecondlife.wordpress.com/the-stores-creators-lists/mesh-stores-using-standard-sizing/

The shapes began by making a proportionate 5’5″ tall woman using this guide:
http://catnapkitty.wordpress.com/2011/06/15/getting-good-body-proportions-in-second-life/

The adjustments for standard sizes were then added in for:
Body Fat, Torso Muscle, Breast Size, Love Handles, Belly Size, Leg Muscle, Butt Size, and Saddle Bags.

Using this shape will allow your avatar to perform motion capture dances and animations much more smoothly, as the proportions fall within the realm of actual human possibility. You will be closer to the real world dancer used to create those motions, as well as closer to where the joints of the Second Life female mesh are intended to bend and morph with movement.

I do recommend that the first thing you do upon applying this shape is go into edit appearance and make some slight facial adjustments so you can be sure to be your own unique self. Save that new altered appearance under a different name so you can have a backup (and in case you alter it before reading this, the package comes with a backup copy).

If you’re an advanced user, or already have a face on a shape you like, you can copy the settings for your eyes, ears, nose, mouth, and chin into one of these shapes to keep a look that is you.

For head settings, you can copy in your settings on face shear, forehead angle, brow size, upper cheeks, lower cheeks, and cheek bones – and this will not alter your proportions.

I recommend not adjusting hand size. But foot size can be altered when wearing shoes.

- Pussycat Catnap

I’m charging $L150.

That’s more than 0, but I hope its still within reason for what goes into perfecting a shape. This is the result of my months of tweaking to get proportions right and attractive on my own avatar, the development of my proportions guide, readjusting that when mesh came out, and again when the standard sizes appeared.

Its copy / mod. So you can apply your own facial features to be you. The face used for it is -NOT- the one I use for myself. It was made to be attractive but not special – something people could work from rather than stay on.

Its a bit of an experiment for me to see a shape as something worth charging for. But I think I’m erring on the right side of things here with a low price for a package of 5 shapes.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shad (Altheria Bakerly) SL
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 01:17:56

    I came across your post in the forum and followed the links til I ended up here. I just purchased your basic body shape(s). I’m just not that good with editing proportions on my own. I have backup copies of my current look so I’m going to try this and play around with it. I really appreciate the time you’ve taken to spell all this out in such an easy to understand way and even more, creating a basic shape to start with. Thank you soooo much! :-)

    Reply

  2. Shad (Altheria Bakerly) SL
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 01:20:08

    PS: Do you have anything for a male avatar? Like the shape(s) I just purchased or know of anyone that does?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

