SL9B – something permanent like this please, to help retention

I’ve added this to my newbie category because I go into advice on finding communities here. But if you’re a new person, this is probably one to read a week or two after you join.

I’m going to break a personal policy I have. I usually do not like to blog about “the same stuff everyone else is” because then well… its just reading more of the same – and probably from someone (me) with less of an informed track (I’ve got my opinions, but lack the industry sources of many SL bloggers).

But this one I need to get out there and say, on my own blog, and not just as a comment on someone else’s. So its just my feelings on things that went well.

SL9B this year really seems to have been everything right about a community event.

I had Initially planned to boycott in protest of Linden Labs pulling out.

Started going as friends dragged me in.

I had a lot less lag at this one than I’ve ever seen in past. Perhaps due to the high presence of mesh; which tends to run faster than pre-mesh on systems capable of running it. Mesh, once you get it working on your system – is just like that. I know some people have nightmares getting to run. For those who’ve made it past the hurdle, its a refreshing future of a lower lag Second Life.

It was so smooth I was able to go to crowded sims and turn on shadows, play with windlight, and spam the feeds with screenshots.
http://my.secondlife.com/pussycat.catnap

The events were great, the builds were great – only a few commercial spammers got in under the radar. I’ve not been one for most events of late as they end up being nothing more than merchant spam-fests. This one was dedicated mostly to builds about communities and what folks love about SL. A section carved off for people who do media about SL, news, blogs, video – that was an added bonus. In fact need to start following http://metaversetv.com/ it looks, was already following http://treet.tv.


I learned about a LOT of communities that I’d never heard of before. And I mean a -LOT-. Who knew there was so much variety out there? After a few years I’ve come to be jaded in thinking I was alone in a wilderness of BDSM, Vampires, and people who listen to music 3 decades old. ;)

I still need to go back and get notecards for about 57 of them… O.o

And I don’t think there’s enough time for me to do it… /sigh. Maybe I’ll pull out an alt so I can go in stealth mode… and then end up IMing friends and defeating the purpose.

Something like this ought to be around all the time.

If a build like this was up 24/7… if even a micro version of it was the welcome area for people

  • some easy way to discover new communities without getting spammed by merchants or ‘best in hoochie-mamma wear is up on the board, bring all your wish-they-could-be-crack-ho-friends’ events…
  • I think that is what would help with retention in SL.

I spent an hour of Sunday morning chatting with a friend who’s recently passed her first rezzday. She was bemoaning how hard its been of late finding people to meet and places to go. She’s in that critical stage in SL where the things you did as a new resident have lost their magic and you need to find something that really syncs with you or SL will get set aside…

SL9B’s style of builds would be the answer – you can run through there and more than likely find something.


I suspect Linden Labs is sitting there smugly feeling they made the right move in pulling out and making residents pay to host their party. But I’m not sure if this went off better because of that, or despite it. It was rushed – and in a rush sometimes people pull together out of crisis more than they might otherwise do. I suspect this went off well due to folks pulling together and setting aside disputes (for the most part – I’m aware of two builds that had to be pulled), in order to meet a very short notice. Given time, the same chaos might unravel into a mess.

Oddly, there have been more linden sightings this last week than I’ve ever seen before. Not by me, but by many others. All over the place.

Last year’s SL8B – they seemed to avoid all but the keynote speeches. This year they’ve been all over the grid, and some posting journals on the feeds.
- I hope that continues as well.

Its a very good sign.

The more the lindens publicly appear to be engaged, the more faith customers will have in the product.

I read lindens all the time complaining when we say they don’t care – stating that yes they do, and many log in on personal accounts from home every day, or during work on linden accounts, etc, yadda yadda.
- But that counts for nothing if we don’t see it.

You can care all you want, if nobody knows, no one has faith in you. Show it. And recently some of them have begun to do so.


As for some kind of build like SL9B, as a permanent thing, what would that look like? Could it be done in a single sim?

Possibly. Maybe. Something to think about.

Could this just comes down to a more effective version of the destination guide? Seeing signs that show communities, and give out a little bit of info, and will take you there.
- Something that effectively filters out the commerce.

Commerce has its place, but that place is not everywhere…

Granted the most effective means would be micro builds… but there are only so many prims to go around. Unless each sign was a rezzer – that rezzed a 100-prim build for a viewer to look at.

Imagine that as an idea. Click through the sign to find your theme of interest, rez a sample, and up pops a scene of something. Perhaps a recreation of a Tiny community, or a stage for a theater community, with a few little prim actors, or a sailboat on water for a sailing community.

- Something visual for people to sink their minds into, gain interest, and go visit the ‘real community.’

That’s what we need, and we need something like at almost every infohub and welcome center in SL…

SL9B shows that we can showcase the diverse communities in SL in an appealing way – the trick is to figure out how to do this all the time.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marianne McCann
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 19:29:16

    This is a capital idea, and one I would love to see happen.

    Reply

    • Pussycat Catnap
      Jun 25, 2012 @ 21:01:22

      Mind you I’m just a fool tossing out a wish-list idea. I have no idea what the practical hurdles would be. But I was super impressed at how -useful- for finding new things to do SL9B was. So much positive out of SL in one week flattened me.

      Reply

  2. Indigo Mertel (@IndigoMertel)
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 21:42:04

    I am glad you decided the same stuff everyone else blogs about. This is a great post and very interesting reading.

    Reply

  3. vrprofessor resident
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 06:46:45

    I like it, or some variation of it. A place where newbies can walk around, not be too embarrased walking into trees, and learn about some of the many things SL has to offer. I will admit that as a relative newb I didn’t understand many of the builds or would not have understood them if I hadn’t already known what they were, but still a pretty neat concept. Well worth LL putting some resources aside to give a try.

    Reply

  4. Dante Mikado
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 19:19:28

    Well said, PC. Nice to see someone who went and then gave this all some solid thinking, as you did. I like the combination of praise where it was due and constructive criticism — not just bashing for bashing’s sake. I hope your voice and others with similar thoughts help spur something good by the Lindens.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

