Kinzart Domestic Cat Review – and how to resize a Furry Avatar with precision

Kinzart Domestic Cat

Kinzart Domestic Cat

1000L$
Mod, Copy, No-Trans
106507 – Draw Weight
Kinzart Mainstore

The Kinzart vendors selling this avatar come with no info or labeling. It was something of a wild guess at what I would get when buying it – which is something that for 1000L many might not be willing to do. That said, hopefully this review will give folks enough information to make a choice.

My recommendation, is that if you want a cat furry, this is a very solid good buy. The only other “domestic cat” furry I really enjoy using day to day is the DSD Ocelot – a different but similar looking species.

Avatar Features

Kinzart Domestic Cat Package Contents
* Wide selection of natural fur colors
* Male and Female PG skins, tattoo layer for female M.
UnRigged Mesh digitigrade legs
UnRigged Mesh digitigrade foot paws
UnRigged Mesh digitigrade hand paws
Paws have retractable claws.
UnRigged Mesh Tail with 4 position choices
UnRigged Mesh Head, Jaw, Eyes, and Ears.
3 texture choices for nose tip and paw pads – individually settable.

Extra texture maps for some parts.
Type/Speech responsive ears, jaw
- No optional pieces.

AUC – Automated Update system – used to keep your avatar up to date, and to strip out optional customization scripts.
Kinzart Domestic Cat AUC
- Don’t wear it like I did, or it will rez at a funny angle. Its one use once rezzed, so delete the rezzed one when done, and just rez another when you need it again.

Impressions

This is a very impressive cat avatar, and shows Kinzart has come a long way in quality since I last gave them a look some two years ago. Parts fit together well, and move gracefully with my AO – even after a significant resizing (more on that later).
Kinzart Domestic Cat Sitting
They are not quite up to the level with mesh seen in Dark Spot Designs – where you have animated unRigged Mesh in elements such as the rabbit’s foot and leg. But Kinzart is a close second.

The use of UnRigged mesh makes this avatar ideal. UnRigged mesh, unlike Rigged mesh can be moved and rescaled to your needs, but gives you the high detail quick rendering options of mesh.
Kinzart Domestic Cat Sideview
The legs and feet are separate elements. A number of recent furry avatars have fused these into one piece – which presents complications when wearing pants, unless a special foot option is provided. By keeping them to two pieces here, you can wear most pants with just the feet – particularly good with mesh pants. However it also means there is a seam at the join between the leg and foot.

Strong Points:

Kinzart Domestic Cat Front Texture
The cat is very well textured, with a rewarding attention to detail that leaves the fur feeling natural. The choices in colors are broad – covering many cat varieties. The style choice of hair behind the legs and under the tail was off-putting at first, but quickly grew on me.
Kinzart Domestic Cat Back Texture

The script memory is so light as to be non-existent. This is no minor point – this thing is super light weight, even with the HUD going.
Kinzart Domestic Cat Script Info
The avatar looks very catlike, appealing and ‘cute’, but without being cartoony. That is a very difficult balance to strike. In every competing cat I’ve tried, they either look catlike -or- attractively cute by being cartoony. This one just looks like a cat, but not something Dr. Evil would carry around.

The head size is proportionately normal. Not a giant cartoon furry head. As a result, as I note below, it works with human hair, and even fits rigged mesh hair !!!

Weaknesses:

I avoided buying the Kinzart cat at first due to the unanimated mesh tail. I have seen both a mermaid tail and the DSD Rabbit single-piece leg/foot that were capable of motion. I’m a big fan of flex tails for furries as I like to see it flow around as I move about.

That said this is a preference issue and not quality issue – and this mesh tail is amazingly well done. So well done that if I were now offered a flex tail I am unsure if I would want to use it. You cannot get this level of detail out of a flex tail. It would be nice to see some animations in it, but I have no idea if this can be done (the answer, if possible, might be in how the mermaid tail I’ve seen animates, or the DSD bunny’s feet).

I had some trouble lining up the paw pads with the wrist after a resizing. The default female shape of the avatar is 5′ 10″ Agent, 6′ 5″ prim height – which is a tad oversized in today’s era (my prim height is 5′ 4″).

The tattoo layer for female parts is a nice touch and good way to do the M version, but seems blurry. There was no tattoo layer for the male chest, but it can be made by modding the female tattoo to be upper only.

Customization + Resizing a furry avatar the right way:

There is no included head hair with this avatar – but the shape of the head is such that most hairs can easily fit it. Unlike every other furry avatar I have tried, I have even been able to fit rigged mesh hair to this avatar – both before and after resizing it. I’ve rarely seen anyone use the head hair that shipped with a furry. So I list this under customization rather than weakness – this avatar has no need for an included hair, nor even for modding hair you buy. Just shop right alongside your human friends and sigh at the other furries trying to move that last strand into place.

The whiskers use the same attachment point as the head – use ‘add’ when wearing them. They are default white – so you can tint them to match head hair choices.

Kinzart Domestic Cat HUD
The HUD is simple yet rich on features. Ears, tail, eyes, hands, claws, mouth, tongue, etc – all can be customized. A number of elements can be colored from within the HUD.
Kinzart Domestic Cat HUD Page 1
Kinzart Domestic Cat HUD Page 2
The four options for nose and paw pad textures, individually chosen, was a very nice bonus item. Funny how such a little thing helps to add so much character.
Kinzart Domestic Cat HUD Page 3

Resizing by the numbers

The included shape seemed to be a tall version of the Standard Sizes XS – mesh clothes at that size fit me with no pop through. But because of how tall the avatar was, and my own shape being 11 inches shorter, I felt a need to resize when applying my shape.

My first attempt involved selecting all the parts and using stretch – this put everything into the wrong alignment, and was not precise. I then got out the linkset resize script I “sell” (a freebie, and one which is actually put out by the lindens on the wiki, I just package it for convenience). This script works by only needing a single copy in each object (root prim only). You put it into each piece, and then type in chat:

/4 0.842697
(my shape height divided by the avatar’s default shape height equaled that number).

- and it shrinks everything in chat range that you own that has the script by a multiple of that amount. MUCH MORE PRECISE than a touch based resizer.

After doing this I only had to do some minimal movement of parts – putting the head in place to where the eyes were, moving the jaw back into position (take before screenshots to compare), and changing some head and eye shape dials to get the eyes just right.

I then took the script -out- of all the parts, detached them, and wore them again. MAKE SURE TO REMOVE THOSE RESIZER SCRIPTS once done. The free one I put out needs to be removed by hand, deleting it from the contents of the object’s root prim. Not being a touch based script, its more controllable but more manual (I prefer this, touch based scripts make it very hard to walk around in SL – I click the back of my avatar so I can move and mouse turn, and instead I get a pop-up window… /grrr… I’m always having to delete touch scripts or trash no-mod items with them).

The final result, as I hope my screenshots show, was just perfect. Because the default Kinzart Cat also uses the XS stanard size, or something amazingly close – my screenshots still look as the purchased cat will, just shorter.

This same number has been great for changing a lot of my furniture made for giant avatars down to my own scale.
Using the Linkset Resizer Scripts

Conclusion:

Very happy with the avatar at this point. So far it feels just right. Would like to see a little more info about it from Kinzart, and would like to see legs and a tail that lacked the under hair for comparison.

Kinzart Domestic Cat Vendor
Some will be bothered by the lack of ‘green’, ‘purple’, ‘raver glow blue’, and ‘neon magenta’ colors – but I like that the avatar, at least presently, only comes in natural tones. Let those canine freaks go purple and glowing blue. ;)

Cats are proud and should have more dignity than that. :p
Kinzart Domestic Cat Standing

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Iohannes
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 07:36:37

    Very impressive cat avie. I just might have to give Kinzart a second look. And yes, real cats prefer their natural fur colors and patterns =~.^=

    Reply

  2. Charolotte Caxton
    Dec 01, 2012 @ 23:46:48

    What a cool avatar!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Kinzart Queotl (Meeroo inspired) Furry Avatar review « Pussycat Catnap's thoughts

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

