Height Check Drama… don’t put that on me…

How tall is your avatar? I obsess about my own avatar’s dimensions, but when was the last time I banned or ejected you for yours? I will offer ‘unsolicited advice’ to bloggers who are showing off fashion if they do so on badly proportioned shapes – but I don’t “height police” anyone…

Notice the height thing on the shape says 1.49m – that is Agent Height. The prim is 1.651, or 5’5″.
HeightCheck
Agent height is just the height to your eyes, by the way – I used to give out a free scripted height meter – and I used a formula to fill in the rest. But of course this was flawed. As I learned how shapes work, I realized that many dials will alter the distance from your eyeline to the top of your head. That is why you just see a regular prim next to me here.

An alt of mine with the same height was recently auto-banned out of a sim for being “too short”.

People tell me the folks like me who have “too-scale” avatars are ‘height pushy’ (they use a less polite term) or ‘height police’… but we’re not the ones banning folks for having a height that, at 5’5″, is actually taller than many of us are in real life.

Furthermore, note that my avatar has a rather large bosom. True of both this alt and my usual avatar. I know that. I’m sure everyone who sees me in SL also notices it. So… consider that another flaw of automated ban systems… No child has a bosom like that.

So don’t ever go calling supposedly ‘short’ avatars the ones with an attitude issue in SL… We’re not the ones giving other people trouble for no rational reason.

Height Ejector: You have been teleported home because your avatar is less than 1.5 meters (5 feet) tall according to its bounding box information. We do this in order to prevent child avatars …

Please be aware that some viewers report height differently in their appearance editors. If you are using the Linden viewer, your height would need to be at least 1.5 meters (5 feet) tall according to its appearance editor. For Firestorm and some of the other viewers, at least 1.7 meters (5 feet, 7 inches). Also ensure there is nothing childlike about your avatar’s appearance.

“Police” – that word means enforcement. So don’t dare call people who have a different shape than you the ‘height police’ when they aren’t doing you any harm, especially if you happen to be one of these places banning people…

As to the actual venue – it wasn’t a loss. Once I read where I was tossed out of. This was a day where I was bored and teleporting to ‘green dots’ just to see if I could find a new hangout or two and I managed to land in a male only race-exploitation sex club… So yeah… no loss for me. But the rationale bugs me… they actually HAD reasons to toss me, but this wasn’t one of them.

Leave a Reply

