Judge not, lest ye be judged – an example of what that means

Reggae_SpiritualandSensual

I get it with nudism – its about self identity, expression, and acceptance of the natural. For me at least. I do find it sensual, but also spiritual. Like SL Sailing, for me it is something I can do here that I cannot do in real life.

On “The SL Naturist” there is a recent post expressing frustration about places that the poster feels ought to allow nudity which don’t. Ok, this comes about 60% of the way through the article. The first half is about something different to which I agree with the blogger, but the segue is rather natural but leads into something I felt a need to comment on.

I can certainly relate, as in my exploration of Second Life Nudism I am finding a lot of venues that just do not want me around in this current state.

Chief among them, nudist venues… Because after all, I’m a Neko in Second Life: I wear cat ears, whiskers, a tail, and tiny fangs (most SL Nekos don’t do the whiskers or fangs).

2009to2016

I’ve been a Neko since I got here. I was a nudist at first too, but don’t have good pics of that.

So I’m seeing a bit of ‘judged by your own standard’ in this. I’ve made a bit of a comment, and decided to reflect on it more here:

A lot of things about what people expect to be “normal” carry through from RL into SL, and you get a lot of places that as such reject the notion of true self-image-exploration (a deeper level than just body acceptance, rather accepting the self image others find to explore).

Before criticizing all those places that reject nudity, look to all of the nudist sims that lock it down to ‘100% human avatar’ only. It is two forms of the same problem: a rooting in pushing one’s own notion of what kind of personal exploration is to be done onto others rather than just onto one’s own personal conduct.

A logical response to my comment of course points out that some social norms stick for good reason: rejecting ‘ageplay’ for example. While other things that are supposed to be rejected don’t get rejected, such as the rampant sexism and racism seen in SL despite both of these things being against the ToS as repugnant. But the best way to sum up how all of this should be looked at is the rule found in almost every faith or moral system: treat others with dignity, don’t do any harm, and realize you will be judged by your own standard.

Which comes back to my first point: if an SL nudist is frustrated with places that ban nudity that ought to allow it, they should begin by looking at the policies of the nudist venues they frequent – one’s own standard often comes back to oneself.

The disclaimer for my comments: I’m a frequent nudist in SL, who as a Neko is not allowed in most SL nudist venues. So my comment is “defensive”.

Its a lesson I’ve failed on myself as well, and I know from enough decades on this planet that I will fail on this again. So I’m not trying to say this from some high horse… but rather from both sides of being experienced here…SelfPortraitofaSelfPortrait

Judge not, lest ye be judged. We’ve all heard that phrase. This is what it means… that in all things you will be judged by the very methods and standards you use to judge others. So before you make any rules or judgements, do some serious thinking about what you are trying to achieve with that, why you’re setting up that standard, and if someone had something against your particular angle on life – if you’d be comfortable using your very standards against you.

That lesson goes beyond Second Life of course.

Here in Second Life, just consider that if you restrict others for reasons of your own comfort level or roleplay or self-exploratory goals; expect that some of those others will likewise restrict you for their own comfort and reasons that exist wholly outside your understanding.

Sometimes its best to try to be accepting. We all fail at that – but failure just means to pick oneself up and try a little better next time.

About_Day_3_in_SL

See, I did start as a nudist, but my pics back then had other issues… And can you believe this skin was labeled as “dark”, and actually was the darkest skin I could find as a newbie. That said, back in 2009 people accepted me almost everywhere I went, dressed like this and sometimes the other 2009 pic above.

 Oh and PS: I can’t go sailing in real life… because my reaction to water is very catty, even though I love the stuff and swim better than a fish. And I’m not a real life nudist because I live in the middle of a dense urban environment with not much room or space to get away and a background that didn’t even make it an option to ‘get out’ until I was in my 20s. So these are things I explore in SL.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

