SL Graphics Glitches when Max Particles set to Zero (Firestorm)

I don’t know if this is Firestorm specific, Mac Specific, or my own system. I’m posting this to see if others can reproduce it.

This is what I saw today when I went to my boat slip on a sim I often hang out in (well, excepting that when I first saw it, my avatar was being worn):

MacBook_nVidia_geForce

Notice the weird shape in the water at left, and how it slices into my body. The funny outline on my chest is the shape of a chair that is behind me. I took off all my attachments because my first thought was I wearing something that was configured wrong. That’s why I look so weird.

And yes… my Belleza Freya shape is THAT WEIRD when its not being used that that body. This is because Belleza Freya is pear shaped in a way I do not like… but it has the best reponse to shape dials… so while it starts out as my least favorite mesh body, once I reshape it, it becomes my favorite – enough so that I use it on all of my alts… (even some retired ones, I have bought I think, 7 copies of Belleza…)

Also notice at upper right – the inverse shadow i front of that boat.

Now, when I turn off all shaders, it goes away:

MacBook_nVidia_geForce_noShaders

So I started worrying that my MacBook is frying… This is a $2800 laptop so that’s the kind of concern that has you looking at your budget… (OK, I got a friend who used to work for Apple, so I got the thing at a steep discount. Apple friends are like crack dealers – if you’re an addict, you need a good reliable one, and nobody else gets it… 😛 ).

(PS: Normally if you hightlight transparency, things like my whiskers that are in Alpha Mask mode DO NOT get red outlines. But if you also turn off basic shaders, they do. This is a handy trick for finding lost alpha-masked prims… like that one you were editing outside your skybox and accidentally turned physical and then um… well yeah…)

So the MacBook uses:

OSX 10.11.4
Processor: 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory: 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB

So I decided to load up my alt on my old iMac and bring her over to see if I saw the same thing on the iMac:

iMac_AMD_Radeon.png

Textures are a bit slow to load on my old 2011 iMac.

Same thing…

The iMac is:
OSX 10.11.4
Processor: 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5
Memory: 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 6750M 512 MB

With some more testing I find this all goes away if I turn off ‘Advanced Lighting’, or, if with ‘Advanced Lighting’ on, I make sure ‘Maximum Particle Count’ is NOT set to 0.

Does anyone else see this? These images were shot at:
http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Naked/138/153/21

But I am guessing this can be replicated in any spot with water and objects in the background.

That said… it has since gone away… and I presently can’t reproduce it. Could this be something loading into the system VERY SLOWLY?

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: SL Graphics Glitches when Max Particles set to Zero (Firestorm) — Pussycat Catnap’s thoughts | ZZ Bottom misadventures in Virtual Worlds!
  2. zzpearlbottom
    May 09, 2016 @ 07:11:13

    To be honest i never ever used particles set to 0. But i do find a bit odd the fact that you find Belleza body to be the best, even if no mod at all and we have to deal with all the scripts it comes with.

    Reply

    • Pussycat Catnap
      May 09, 2016 @ 17:11:06

      The look of my avatar is very important me, as is how it animates. Look at how bad a system avatar is (the first screenshot on this article). No mesh body animates as well as Belleza. I initially avoided Lena Lush/Perky due to the shoulders when raising my arms up – but later got it on an alt that never raises her arms. But it is still not as good. Belleza has the right amount of cuts, low script cost, low avatar complexity cost, and the right look. Its no-Mod… but that’s just an annoyance…

      (And not really topical to this article… 🙂 )

      Reply

      • zzpearlbottom
        May 10, 2016 @ 05:11:52

        I tested the late demos of the belleza and really liked isis but at lod 2 i noticed that it took a bit to set all lawyers on the right spots, it was like seeing a puzzle being made in front of my eyes, and as someone told me that there will be a new version of the bodies coming soon, ill wait til then, perhaps that will be the time to try and change from my beloved KL perky:). I still think that when naked, using Kl with only its base laywer, there is no other body that can compare on avatar complexity, script usage and overall performance after crossing sims, but sadly is not the best to wear clothes and i fear no update coming soon:

      • Pussycat Catnap
        May 10, 2016 @ 21:01:19

        Its good to have all your lawyers in the right spots in case you get called to testify in front of some committee or need to get some evidence in during your trial. 😛

  3. SueGeeli DeCuir
    May 10, 2016 @ 11:18:33

    I am not very knowledgeable when it comes to computer specifics but I have to say that I have been experiencing glitches in Firestorm too when I put my graphics to ultra and back to normal or the other way around. Sometimes I get outlines too from things that were in the background or around me. I too was worried that my computer was frying and I just bought it last year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

