Fixing floating above floors

floatfloors1

I feel the ‘physics’ of the floor of this thing is a little off…

This happens a LOT with mesh buildings. To fix it I MAKE SURE my ‘hover height’ is 0′ and I have no ‘shoe adjust’ worn, then edit the linked parts, make the floor physics ‘none’ and then put a transparent prim under it low enough that my feet are at the ground. Often the floor IS the root prim – and root prims CANNOT be physics ‘none’, so I link my new hidden ‘underfloor’ and make it the root.

A few building brands actually do this floor fix included in the product – when you edit them you’ll often find a hidden prim under the floors. First time I saw that I thought it was sloppy work, until I learned why.

floatfloors2
For this screenshot I made the hidden floor a little bigger just to show where I’ve put it – now my feet are at the right spot, I can make this hidden floor less wide to fit inside and then transparent it.

floatfloors3
Best way to make a transparent prim is to use ‘default transparent texture’, set alpha mode to ‘masking’, and cutoff to 1. – that’s low lag and no alpha glitch (where you see far things in front of close things)..

Gonna be a little more complex on the second floor – I have to make a cut for the stairs there. So 3 linked ‘convex hull’ prims will be used.
floatfloors4

And do make sure to do all of this with a copy:
useacopy_001

I also made the new one smaller. Scale: 0.77017670939811 – which is easy to do with a free linkset resizer script. Just remember that if you add new prims to the link AFTER using the resize script, then it will go crazy if you size it again without ‘resetting’ the script. The large one in the background has a land impact of 71. The smaller one in the foreground has a land impact of 44 – and that is AFTER I added in my hidden floor prims.

And once you’re happy with what you’ve got, it is time to put it to use. The grounds of my home in Second Life:
slhomeatgroundoct2016

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Fixing floating above floors Second life - Tuto...

Leave a Reply

